AMD quarter panel question

-

halfafish

Damn those rabbits, and their holes!
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
I got my delivery of quarter patch panels from AMD yesterday for my 69 Dart. They look good, but much to my surprise there was no hole for the reflector. The panel looks like it's for a 67 Dart with just smooth metal. I've never done sheet metal before so I have no experience in this area - is this normal? If so, do you have to cut out the old reflector area and patch it into the new one or ??

I'm going to contact them in the morning to see what AMD says about this. Maybe they sent me the wrong ones?

Their website says the patch panel is for 67, 68, and 69. So, looks like that is all that is available for that application.
The quarter panel skin is available with the marker light cut out. It's currently on sale for only $15.00 more plus freight than the patch. It may be one of their discontinued items.

Your other option being yours is a 69, is to cut out a rectangle section of your OEM quarter that has the 69 marker cutout, and graft it into the new panel. If labor cost is an issue, I'd buy the panel that's $15 more with the hole already stamped in it.

Thanks for the tip on the quarter panel skins. They were not on sale when I put in my order. You're right, it would be lots simpler to order them but the shipping is $200. Plus I'd have to pay to get the patch panels back to them so overall we're pushing $300 to make the change. I guess I will have to fab in the markers when the time comes. Boo-Hiss...:(

I've seen the patch panel done by an amateur it turned out hideous.. on the other hand I've seen an entire quarter panel I mean not a big huge patch panel but the entire quarter panel from back of driver's door to tail light to roofline done and it turned out excellent...