another question torque converter

Early A-Body Discussions

  1. danial

    danial Active Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Location:
    california
    Local Time:
    10:01 AM
    if I lost some fluid out of the torque con. and installed it with out replacing it will it fill it self up thru the trans. Don't laugh.
     
  2. oldkimmer

    oldkimmer FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    10,432
    Likes Received:
    1289
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    Kindersley, Saskatchewan,
    Local Time:
    12:01 PM
    ...............Yes, it sure will as soon as u start the car and let it warm up in neutral..........kim.....
     
  3. TrailBeast

    TrailBeast Slightly Twisted Member

    Messages:
    19,484
    Likes Received:
    5915
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    Local Time:
    10:01 AM
    As soon as you fire it up it will fill back in about 2 seconds, but don't forget to chk your fluid level after.

    Brand new ones go in about 3/4 empty and we used to shoot about a half a quart on a new installation to lube the bearings on the first fire up till the pump filled them.
     
  4. danial

    danial Active Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Location:
    california
    Local Time:
    10:01 AM
    oh man that's great don't think I could do that again.this is a first time and on a very small budget.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.