Any welders on the board?

-

EvilScamp

Reaction score
I have a question about mig welds not penetrating.
I'm using .030 wire to weld body panels,sometimes the it will weld good(plug welds)and penetrate other times it won't!
It will just fill in the hole and as soon as i touch the weld to see if it held it brakes!
The heat is on 4 and the wire speed is up about half way,i can't remember where it's set right now.
Any tips or suggestions would be appreciated. :)

I'm no expert, but usually the problem is an unclean surface. Make sure both pieces are clean.(No rust, paint, or grease) You might also check that your ground is good.

You have a couple of things that may cause this. The most likely cause is not enough shielding gas while you are welding. You may think it is doing alright but you will have the results you are getting. Give me a little more info on what you are welding with. What type of welder is it? How old is It?( may seem like a silly question but it helps in figuring out possible problems) What type of gas are you using?

turn your wire speed down a few, and try it...and turn the voltage up or down from there.i run my gas at around 30" make sure its very clean (after grinding i wipe the panel with denatured alcohol)and that your ground is good. when welding your quaters, weld the upper seam (front to rear upper) in 1 inch sections about 4 inches apart and then go back and weld an inch more ,etc,etc until it is completly welded (this will cause very minimal heat warpage.you will get some warpage but very minimal)thiswill make it so you will not get the cracks and bubbles you get from just plug welding the panel (ive not fully welded the quater on one car i did and from chasis flex it cracked at the rear )

Thanks for the tips guys :D
It could be the wire speed,the area is very clean i made sure of that.