Anyone Know Radiators?

-

symonjester

Reaction score
Hello Gang,

I have a 68 Cuda with a now very leaky 3 core brass radiator. I believe it was the original when the engine was a slant 6. Now that I'm running a 360 (and I live in Texas) I thought i worthwhile to upgrade to an Aluminum one.

Can anyone help me understand if this (see link) http://www.summitracing.com/parts/GRI-5-268HC-EAX/ should do the trick? It says it goes up to the Cuda 383 so I have to imagine it'll suffice for my needs.

Also I've never done radiator work before so this'll be an adventure. Any tips you wonderful gear heads might share with a newbie?

All the best - Ross

Upgrading to an Aluminum radiator isn't really an upgrade if you can have your 3 core brass radiator rebuilt. Fact is Brass runs cooler than aluminum although aluminum is lighter than brass..

On another note, upgrading to an aluminum cross flow radiator seems to be the hot ticket..

Upgrading to an Aluminum radiator isn't really an upgrade if you can have your 3 core brass radiator rebuilt. Fact is Brass runs cooler than aluminum although aluminum is lighter than brass..

On another note, upgrading to an aluminum cross flow radiator seems to be the hot ticket..

Okay, interesting. I was told (by a general mechanic) that (1) an aluminum is more efficient in cooling and a 2 core would be similar to a 4 core brass. (2) that I had vertical flow and should stick with that. I assume what he's talking about is the way the pipes of the radiator run, yes?

Thanks!

Really depends on what you want to wind up with in terms of performance and appearance. Also depends on if you want an off-the-shelf unit from China or a custom-built item from America. Here is how I chose to go (thread linked off this linked thread shows the source)