Best Hammer/ Dolly Set advice from a Pro Panel Beater

-

PROSTOCKTOM

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Looking for advice on a quality Hammer/ Dolly set from our pro panel beaters on the forum.

Not looking for a low quality, Amazon, or Chinese made set. Looked at the Covel set, but figure I am paying at least $100 more for Ron's name on them.

Thanks in advance for those that post a reply.

Tom

@67Dart440GT can help with this if he's not incredibly busy. He's a professional body man by trade. What say you Colin?

The Heal and Toe style dolly's are very handy, easier to get into a lot of tight spaces.

Screenshot_20240421-054322_Firefox.jpg

Other simple 50.00 hammer dolly sets, the hammers are less than ideal but can work.

Screenshot_20240421-054001_Firefox.jpg

My favorite finishing hammer is a thin flat face with the chisel point made by Snap on Tools. The head and handle has the good balance to it, but in today's world you will pay 10 times the price for a good Snap On hammer set.

Screenshot_20240421-053743_Firefox.jpg

And yes ouch > the good Snap On hammers bring a good price even used.

Screenshot_20240421-053828_Firefox.jpg

Depends if you are a career professional or a weekend warrior as to the value you can get out of the particular sets.

☆☆☆☆☆

I should probably mention there are 2 types of hammers.

Finishing hammers with the machined larger round flat face.

And Rough In hammers with more of a Cast head.

☆☆☆☆☆

I've had my snap on set for over thirty years, just had to replace a couple of handles. Mostly by my own fault

Somewhere along the line I lost most of the body tools I kept from my Snap-On truck, but I still have all of my dollies. They’re getting a good workout on my Dart. I’m not a body man by trade, just by hobby, but I can tell you that cheap body hammers and dollies just don’t work the same, or five you the same finish.