came upon a 76 dart donor car w/ 318

-

jasonmrenda

Reaction score
well i am enjoying my 67 dart and have a plan to get it to where i'd like it- mainly starting with the interior, followed by some areas of body work then paint, and then possibly tackling the performance side of things.

so as a web designer i am on the web all day long and i get caught up on craigslist. anyway i found a guy with a 76 dart w/ a 318 auto trans that runs but he says the steering turns to the right as soon as the engine powers on. now i'd just be using this for parts depending on the condition of things. mainly the leafs, front disks and a-arms?, and the drivetrain maybe down the road. i'm sure there will be plenty of these types of vehicles around as i get closer to actually doing this stuff, but as i am very new to all this i was hoping you could let me know if this car would be a possible good donor for what i am looking to do. i know 318's are cheap. i would think that between the driveline, the motor mounts, the k frame, the wheels, the brakes, and possibly the leaf springs that i could use a lot of this and get a fair deal if i can get it for 5-600?

i had decided to keep the /6 and just some simple bolt ons to wake it up a little bit but prob keep it fairly stock so i wouldnt need to do brakes, rear end, etc. but then i saw this car for sale and thought maybe i could spend the money more wisely.

any thoughts?

Now you have a real decision to make. The fix for the steering issue is easy and really cheap. How is the rest of the car? Is the major issue the steering? The only thing wrong with it is a need for a reman steering box which are going for around $125. The center adjustment for the power steering box is out of whack. You can try to adjust it yourself, but it is a lot simpler to get a reman box. All the parts you mention will be a direct bolt in swap and will also rid you of the '67 one year only idler arm which is nearly impossible to find.

thanks grumpus