Car Show Tips??

-

ron john

Reaction score
Here's To you Experienced Car Show Experts, Any Tips ,Do's and Dont's??, Any Advice will be Appreciated!!:newb:

I always drive in, park my car and start walking around. I spend very little time at my actual car.

I know some people love to stand around and answer questions, but I'm not one of those people.

Why?........ Because some clown always knows more about my car than I do. Like the "wonder turd" that insisted a 340 was not available in 68.

I know an older guy who has some pretty sweet old cars, Packards, Pierce Arrows etc. and a wall of trophies for them. His number one recommendation when people ask him about what they should do to show their car is, "If it can be seen it's gotta be CLEAN!"

I'm no expert by a long shot but some learnings I have been picking up:

Resist the urge to "protect" your car by parking it on the edge of the show. You want it to be seen and clearly visible, especially for the judges.

Clean, clean and more clean. Oil on a motor may be natural and show that the car gets driven but won't win you a trophy in most shows. I've seen some beautiful cars at shows that don't place because their engine bay looks like crap.

Leave your hood and trunk open - and clean out your trunk. Most shows will judge the trunk too and if it's full of crap it won't get much points no matter how nice it is.

If you live in this area and go to a local show just run out and buy all of the stick on chrome you can find and plaster it all over your car. The judges around here seem to like that crap for some reason ........ :)

If I go to a show I detail the car and put a sign on the front
window. "For Display Only"

I go for the meet-n-greet....love meeting and talking to the
folks.

If it's a cruise in....I pull in, get out and get my chair out. I don't
even wipe it down. Bugs are a sign of driving enjoyment.:D