Chrysler "Build Sheets"

-

Fred Fisch

FischFace66
Reaction score
I find these old "Build Sheets" very interesting but want to first say that I am no expert at all. I have studied them a bit on-line but have only seen one-- mine. You can see it at my member photo gallery Fred Fisch's "1966 Plymouth Barracuda 273."
This is probably obvious for most enthusiasts but for newbies or those of us who take a while to figure things out, I am not talking about the window sticker that we all see in more modern times. This is called the "Chrysler Corp Car Production Broadcast" report. Many are found under the rear seat folded and tucked up into the springs. That is where I found mine in 2012, 46 years after the car was delivered. It looked more like something that went with the seat than the vehicle, and I had to really look up there twice to even notice it due to it being folded so small. It came out in very delicate condition, with a few key scraps falling away that had to be retrieved and reapplied to the original. I think that lot of these will have the marks of the seat springs, just like mine. That is a sign of authenticity.

If you do not have the Build Sheet from your Mopar, look up under your back seat. If you find or have yours and it matches to your vehicle (I have read anecdotally that not all of the Build Sheets were placed into the correct vehicle), take a close look. The Build Sheet could identify important notations that help to explain your vehicle's history. For instance, my Barracuda delivered in Montana had the factory undercoating option. I think this fact, plus a lot of early California living, explains why my A-body never rusted and remains original. There is a lot of stuff on there that I have had a hard time understanding, but I enjoy continuing to look at this late-found artifact and learn more about my vehicle. It also adds to the lore and certainly the value of your Mopar.