Cragar SS Lug Nut/Stud Engagement Question.

-

TimS

Reaction score
I’ve used the 61C Cragar SS on a 69 Barracuda Formula S in the past but with long studs. The lug nuts recommended are conical seat 60 degree. Anyone using these wheels and lug nuts on a car with standard stud length? I want to use on my stock 68 Barracuda but afraid there is not enough lug nut to stud engagement. Seems like these things would come loose. Also these are the drilled 5X4 bolt Cragar.

Thoughts? Thanks !!

I have those wheels on one of my cars. I didn't feel safe with the thread engagement with stock length studs. I called Cragar and was told you need at least 10 turns of engagement on a 1/2-20. I ended up going with longer studs, but another option are these conical/shank nuts. This one is made by Cragar, but I believe other places sell similiar.

unnamed.png

I have been using them in my stock 69 barracuda for 5 years. Mine are SBP. No issues.

Edit: I didn’t notice the shank. My Cragars are the conical seat ones with no shank on them.

Last edited:
I have those wheels on one of my cars. I didn't feel safe with the thread engagement with stock length studs. I called Cragar and was told you need at least 10 turns of engagement on a 1/2-20. I ended up going with longer studs, but another option are these conical/shank nuts. This one is made by Cragar, but I believe other places sell similiar.

View attachment 1715980486

Those lug nuts pictured appear to at least give you a chance at the ten turn neighborhood. Did Cragar recommend that style you have pictured or did you find those later on?

The old Cragars used mag style lugs that reached thru the wheel to grab all the stock studs.
The NEW Cragers have conical seats, but are UNSAFE with stock style conical nuts. The mounting holes are too big, the ordinary conical lugs don't engage enough stud, and work loose because of the hole size.