Diesel Owners -Info Needed

-

roughidle

Super Platinum Member
Reaction score
OK diesel owners... specifically Cummins owners.... I'm going to go at some point this week at a 2003 Ram 2500 with a 5.9 Cummins. I've been a gasoline man until now. I have no personal experience with diesel so I'm asking for advice so I can (at least believe in my head) know what I'm looking at and listening for when looking at the truck. Any and all tips would be appreciated!

Thanks

D

2003 is first year for the common rail injection,, most of the problems from 98 to 2002 have been solved,,,look to see how it was cared for,,most used cummns dodge truck are work horses and beat up 400 000 mile motor easily if cared for,,,,lmost common problem is the fuel pump from 98 to 2002 i dont knwo if the 03 had that problem,, i assume not there pump is in the tank,,, there is a large web site turbo diesel registery,,lots of how toos and what not tooos on that site u do have to subscribe to there tri monthly magazine to post on that site,, im a member,,, and it saved me a few times,,,

Are there different versions of the 5.9L? I'll have to check out other sites I guess. Didn't know how many drivers there'd be on this site. Thanks for the info so far!

Yes 2003 was the first year of the common rail setup. I have a 1999
the problems with the 98 to 2002 was the injector pump (vp44) failing due
to a crappy fuel pump that did not have enough pressure to keep the injector pump cooled. I installed an airdog 100 fuel pump to keep the pressure above 14 psi. stock pumps put out around 8. For a ton of information go to the mopar1973man forums. it is a wealth of knowledge.
I love my dodge deisel.
e3gy.jpg