Exhaust manifold recommendations

-

Hilderbrand1983

Reaction score
I removed the intake and exhaust manifolds from my 1967 Dodge Dart 270 (225cid slant 6) and discovered some good news and some bad news.

The Good News: I won't have to worry about cleaning up the exhaust manifold.

The Bad News: Because it's cracked.

I know that these were given to cracking, so I don't want to put an old one from a salvage yard back on the engine. I also don't see much sense in trying to weld on a repair that will crack again in a year or so.

Does anyone have any recommendations as to a new, quality exhaust manifold? I'm looking to keep stock specs on this restoration.

20161114_104443.jpg

20161114_104446.jpg

1. how much do you want to spend?
2. do you want to upgrade the carb, or keep it stock?

I'm no expert, but I have a 225 /6 in my dart and I've been doing some research. there are quite a few options.

1. how much do you want to spend?
2. do you want to upgrade the carb, or keep it stock?
I'm willing to spend what it takes. No need to cut corners now, only to have to replace it again in 12-24 months. I'm looking to keep things as close to stock as is reasonable. If there are sensible upgrades from stock, though, I'm willing to pay for those.

Not really much performance to be gained with the iron stock manifold (unless you feel up to some grinding/porting).
I purchased a $100 (new) casting from eBay. It was definitely a cheaply made unit. Externally, it looked fine, internally there was a LOT of casting flash/lumps. I persevered but it took quite a bit of work to make it useable. I can't comment on the more expensive castings, but this is one place not to cut corners (unless you plan to actually cut the corners).

You can keep it almost stock and find the setup of a super six.

So you'd recommend the Dorman unit? I see it at Amazon for $250, but I want to make sure that it was quality before I order it.