fender tag help please

-

redelliott

Reaction score
hi guys im new to a bodies i just picked up a 72 340 4 speed demon,it needs a ton of work but its a great project , i'll post some pics when i get some film. on my fender tag the code tx9 shows up 3 times i know its black body ,black upper doors, but what is the other tx9 stand for? would it be painted black roof? how do i post pics?

Welcome redelliott.
I'm not sure on the fender tag, but good to see another 72'340 Demon.
As for posting pictures. You have to upload them to a site like linkedimages.com and then link them here using
tags around the link

Welcome. Yep, TX9 would probably be the top color, depends where on the tag it shows up. If it wasn't a black top it would be a vinyl top, or a VO2 (two tone) car. Hope you like our home away from home here. Ray

thanks guy i'll post some pics later
the tag reads

v21 v68 v88 en1
m21 m43 n23 n41 n42 r11
tx9 u a88 b51 c56 j54
tx9 f6x9 tx9 c09 337366
e55 d21 lm29 h2b 258703

Hope this helps

v-21 Performance Hood Treatment
v-68 Longitudial Stripe last digit is color Believe 8 is white, black was 9
v-88 Tranverse Stripe Last digit is color again
m-21-Roof Drip Moldings
M-43-Grille Surrond Moldings
N-41&42 - Dual Exhaust w Chrome Tips
R-11 Am Radio
A-88-340 Interior Group
B-51-Power Assit Disc Brakes
C-56-Dual Reclining Buckets
J-54-Sport Hood
TX9 Likely Exterior Color (Black)
U US Built
TX9 ? Likely interior color
C09 Build Date 9th day, but the C is puzzling. usually the first digit # is month. Normally a Numercial digit instead of an Alpha code
E-55 340 Four Barrel
D-21-HD Four Speed Manual
LM 29 - Demon 340

Sounds like an awesome Demon that should be saved

Does it have stripes or not? I think the "8" on the the V68 and the V88 is for delete. So it shouldn't have stripes. The CO9 is Thurs. Dec. 9, 1971. They couldn't use 10, 11, or 12 so they used A,B,C, to keep it a three space code. Can't wait to see pics. Ray