64 Dart 270

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
Contact seller
Yes, I know this is a strange request….

My Dart needs frame rails and floors. I’ve been a shade tree mechanic since being a kid (a long time ago), but my body work experience to date has been limited to a ball peen hammer, screws, pop rivets, and bondo slathered on good enough to pass a sticker (which don’t take much in VT). I really want to learn and do the body on my dart as well even though it will probably cost me as much (after buying all the tools and supplied) and take a really long time, but I’m in it for the journey as well as the result.

I signed up for a night welding class at a trade high school near my work and had the first class this week. The instructor (awesome guy) said that we could bring in little projects and show up early and he would help us work on it and give us advice. I have my 270 dart front end stripped down (engine, tranny, hood, fenders, bumper etc), and next is to take the k-frame out and then it’s time to take a million measurements/references before pulling the rails. But, I don’t want to do that until I’m ready to put replacement rails in.

So I was thinking about it the other night, and thought if someone had some rusty scrap rails laying around they could cut up I’d gladly pay for your time and the ride to my address for a couple of say 10-12” sections. My thought is that if I had a couple of small sections I could practice cleaning them up, cut and bend one of the sections to simulate the frame rail end that attaches to the cross member, spray them with weld through prime, weld them together, and then get some sheet metal the same thickness as a floor pan and practice making those spot welds as well.

Any takers to help and old newbie???

i have the back 27" from the p/s of a 76 dart that you're welcome to.just pay shipping,kent