GPS sender for speedometer

Discussion in 'Electrical and Ignition' started by demon322, Dec 2, 2018.

  1. demon322

    demon322 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Local Time:
    12:43 AM
    Trying to decide between GPS and electronic sending unit for my new auto meter speedo. Those of you that use a GPS sender can you share a pic of where you mounted the sender on the dash? Center or side? Can it be tucked up near the dash pad? I know it has to have a clear view of the sky so I assume somewhere on top of the dash is the best bet. Thanks all.
     
  2. Alaskan_TA

    Alaskan_TA Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,976
    Likes Received:
    1679
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Location:
    PA
    Local Time:
    1:43 AM
    Garmin GPS works for that. I use mine to check accuracy after a rear gear / speedometer pinion change.

    All spot on from the charts available so far.
     
  3. demon322

    demon322 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Local Time:
    12:43 AM
    Thank you for the reply, but I think maybe we are talking about two different things.

    I have a new aftermarket electric speedometer from auto meter. It says I have two options to make it work. Either GPS sending unit or electric sending unit bolted to the transmission where the old speedometer cable went.
     
  4. g413

    g413 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    96
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Local Time:
    12:43 AM
    With just a little more wiring, you can also mount the GPS receiver under the back glass. That way it will be a little less obvious.
     
  5. 68cuda408

    68cuda408 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    94
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Location:
    11967 NY
    Local Time:
    1:43 AM
    I use the speed hut GPS unit so I'm not sure what antenna you have. My ,magnetic puck is inside the car at the far right corner of the dash. You can barely see it in the pic against the blue welder case.

    20160623_192112.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • roccodart440

      roccodart440 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      4,833
      Likes Received:
      3808
      Joined:
      Apr 19, 2010
      Local Time:
      1:43 AM
      It's very small, I ran it down the dash defroster vent and to the back of the speedo.

      If you look close you'll see it in this picture.

      20150430_150841.jpg
       
    • demon322

      demon322 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      415
      Likes Received:
      37
      Joined:
      Jul 5, 2007
      Location:
      Arkansas
      Local Time:
      12:43 AM
      Interesting idea. I had never thought of the back glass area. It says it comes with 16ft of cable so that should be plenty to get back there if I went that route.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • demon322

        demon322 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        415
        Likes Received:
        37
        Joined:
        Jul 5, 2007
        Location:
        Arkansas
        Local Time:
        12:43 AM
        Mine is the auto meter. I can see it. Not big at all. I like it.
         
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • demon322

          demon322 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          415
          Likes Received:
          37
          Joined:
          Jul 5, 2007
          Location:
          Arkansas
          Local Time:
          12:43 AM
          This one took me a minute! I think I spotted it though. It doesn’t look bad there at all and I’m sure gets good signal there. Thanks.
           
          • Like Like x 1
          • Gdub310

            Gdub310 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

            Messages:
            51
            Likes Received:
            42
            Joined:
            Jul 10, 2018
            Location:
            Los Angeles
            View My Photos
            Local Time:
            10:43 PM
            Keep in mind that "clear view of the sky" doesn't literally mean line of sight to the sky. The main thing is to make sure it is not directly blocked by metal. I have two (one Autometer unit, one Classic Dash branded) of them mounted under the dash pads on different cars, and both work great. One is in the opening where the factory AM radio speaker would go, right under the perforations in the pad. The other is in a spot where there was a factory void in the metal top of the dash, just under the pad and right above the glove box.
             
          • demon322

            demon322 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

            Messages:
            415
            Likes Received:
            37
            Joined:
            Jul 5, 2007
            Location:
            Arkansas
            Local Time:
            12:43 AM
            So tucked under the end of the pad should be ok? I actually had thought about the factory stereo speaker location in the center of the dash but that wouldn’t work under the metal dash frame. I wasn’t aware of the void above the glove box, I’ll have to look into that. I’d like it to be as little noticeable as possible. Do you mind showing me pictures of the two that you mentioned? Thanks.
             
          • roccodart440

            roccodart440 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            4,833
            Likes Received:
            3808
            Joined:
            Apr 19, 2010
            Local Time:
            1:43 AM
            The thing is very small and sleek looking.

            If you wanted an even more stealth location I'd consider the rear speaker area.
             
          • loganscuda

            loganscuda DON’T reMember

            Messages:
            1,398
            Likes Received:
            973
            Joined:
            Jul 15, 2010
            Location:
            san antonio
            View My Photos
            Local Time:
            12:43 AM
            Mine is stuck to the rear window top driver side of glass. Fastback. Not noticeable
             
          • Gdub310

            Gdub310 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

            Messages:
            51
            Likes Received:
            42
            Joined:
            Jul 10, 2018
            Location:
            Los Angeles
            View My Photos
            Local Time:
            10:43 PM
            The vehicles I was speaking of were not A-bodies, so you'll probably find something different under your dash pad. But otherwise, yes, the pad itself will not block GPS signals; it may attenuate the signal strength slightly, but not enough to cause any problems. But covering the antenna with metal is no bueno.
             
            • Agree Agree x 1
            • demon322

              demon322 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

              Messages:
              415
              Likes Received:
              37
              Joined:
              Jul 5, 2007
              Location:
              Arkansas
              Local Time:
              12:43 AM
              It is! Came in yesterday and I was surprised how small it is. Another vote for the rear tray. I’ll keep that in mind.
               
              • Like Like x 1
              • demon322

                demon322 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                Messages:
                415
                Likes Received:
                37
                Joined:
                Jul 5, 2007
                Location:
                Arkansas
                Local Time:
                12:43 AM
                Gotcha. So if I choose the front I was thinking of maybe center dash butted up against dash pad or close to it and should be able to get the wire from there to inside the dish fairly easily. Thanks again.
                 
              • retroron

                retroron FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                Messages:
                566
                Likes Received:
                298
                Joined:
                Apr 9, 2014
                Location:
                Livermore Calif
                View My Photos
                Local Time:
                10:43 PM
                I'm using a GPS unit from Classic Instruments. I've used them before, they work fine as long as they can see sunlight. I got creative in mounting my GPS, I cut out the speaker enclosure, welded in a box with a lexan cover. The GPS works fine. Here is a picture of it mounted in the dash. I buried a 2007 300C radio antenna in the box as well but it isn't working.
                ng Dj1pZ3lnQmuTAkxWL32omw.jpg
                 
                • Like Like x 1
                • roccodart440

                  roccodart440 Well-Known Member

                  Messages:
                  4,833
                  Likes Received:
                  3808
                  Joined:
                  Apr 19, 2010
                  Local Time:
                  1:43 AM
                  That is slick...... Very nice work
                   
                • demon322

                  demon322 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  415
                  Likes Received:
                  37
                  Joined:
                  Jul 5, 2007
                  Location:
                  Arkansas
                  Local Time:
                  12:43 AM
                  Somewhat on the same topic - my autometer gauges are LED lit. Did any of you wire in an LED dimmer (AMs is #9114) in your install?
                   
                • Gdub310

                  Gdub310 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  51
                  Likes Received:
                  42
                  Joined:
                  Jul 10, 2018
                  Location:
                  Los Angeles
                  View My Photos
                  Local Time:
                  10:43 PM
                  I did. It's not super-linear like a potentiometer with incandescent bulbs, but it's not a bad approximation. Although, I find my Ultra Lite II gauges to be a bit on the dim side, so I usually have them turned up all the way. If I did it again, I wouldn't bother with the dimmer.
                   
                • demon322

                  demon322 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  415
                  Likes Received:
                  37
                  Joined:
                  Jul 5, 2007
                  Location:
                  Arkansas
                  Local Time:
                  12:43 AM
                  I should have asked earlier then ha. I already have the dimmer, am just unsure about the wiring. It has the single white wire that goes to the gauge lights, and says it works multiple gauges.

                  I bought the classic dash wiring harness with my gauges. It has a single gray wire labeled gauge lightts that splits into 6 wires on the gauge side of the harness, one going to each gauge. Do I just splice the white wire from the dimmer to that gray wire before it splits off for each gauge?
                   
                • Gdub310

                  Gdub310 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  51
                  Likes Received:
                  42
                  Joined:
                  Jul 10, 2018
                  Location:
                  Los Angeles
                  View My Photos
                  Local Time:
                  10:43 PM
                  I also used classic dash. I believe that's how I did it, but it's been over 2 years now, so I can't be certain.
                   
                • demon322

                  demon322 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  415
                  Likes Received:
                  37
                  Joined:
                  Jul 5, 2007
                  Location:
                  Arkansas
                  Local Time:
                  12:43 AM
                  Ha. I understand that. That was the only way that made sense but I wanted to see if anyone else had done the same. I'll give it a shot.