Ground Point for Battery on Engine Block

-

SD_R/T

Stay Classy
Reaction score
So the PO of my '68 Valiant at some point grounded the battery neg(-) to the engine block at one of the mounting bolts for the water pump. This seemed kinda odd to me, figuring that anytime you wanted to adjust it or take it off (like to clean it) that some coolant might drip out.

Well, I decided to change mounting point and sure enough - some coolant leaked out when I removed the mounting bolt to take off the cable.

Anyhow....anyone have any pointers on a good mounting point for the "battery to block" ground cable? I'm pretty new to the Slant 6. It seems like those without power steering have mounted it to the bolt holes intended for the power steering. This Valiant does have the power steering, however.

Bonus Question: So I was eyeballing the bolts on the engine mounting bracket and backed out the middle bolt (there appears to be 3?), but sure enough it was too large for the neg(-) cable lug I have. Anyway, I couldn't get the damn thing back in. I didn't gorilla-f*ck the bolt back in - took it kinda easy actually. The first thread on the bolt looks a little flattened, but not terribly. I'll get another one at the hardware store, but is there any chance the engine shifted slightly in its alignment with the mounting bracket? It was hard to tell with the amount of light I had available. One task always turns into 4 :toothy10:

Yes it move under the weight of the motor. Jack some weight off of the motor and loosen the top bolt. It should let the lower bolt hole line up Start both bolts and run them against before tightening them.

Yes it move under the weight of the motor. Jack some weight off of the motor and loosen the top bolt. It should let the lower bolt hole line up Start both bolts and run them against before tightening them.

Hmm....where would one jack up the engine to do this, assuming I don't have access to a cherry picker?