Help with Grinding wheel for angle grinder....what kind?

-

gdizzle

Reaction score
I have a 4in wheel grinder that I am getting ready to put to work on a few rust areas on my 66 dart. Mainly the rear quarter panel near the bottom, and also the roof seam.

The rear quarter panel has developed a bunch or pimple/blisters and i believe they have already been bondo'd, painted and now it is breaking out again. I want to be careful that my grinder doesnt just eat through the fender like butter.

The roof seam looks to be just rusted at the seam, old seam sealer is all breaking apart.
What type of grinder disc do I use for this type of body work?? Keep in mind I have never done grinding on a car before, so this is my Maiden Voyage.
I also have an orbital sander if that is safer? Thanks for any help you guys.
My current plan is to prep the car best I can, then take it to a MAACO and just have them spray it with their best 2 stage paint.

I'm not a body man by any stretch, but for what you are doing, I would be tempted to use a flap wheel. Just keep in mind how much pressure you are using and try not to generate too much heat in an area.

I have a 4in wheel grinder that I am getting ready to put to work on a few rust areas on my 66 dart. Mainly the rear quarter panel near the bottom, and also the roof seam.

The rear quarter panel has developed a bunch or pimple/blisters and i believe they have already been bondo'd, painted and now it is breaking out again. I want to be careful that my grinder doesnt just eat through the fender like butter.

The roof seam looks to be just rusted at the seam, old seam sealer is all breaking apart.
What type of grinder disc do I use for this type of body work?? Keep in mind I have never done grinding on a car before, so this is my Maiden Voyage.
I also have an orbital sander if that is safer? Thanks for any help you guys.