help with tuning an AED 750 Ho

-

sparkie573

Reaction score
So I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to carb tuning. And I am trying to get this tuned in. It's a newer AED 750 Ho carb. I have a wideband kit on it which is helping a lot. I am trying to get my cruising rpm air/fuel ratio a bit leaner as it is running at about 11.5 to 12.5 and in between.

The car is a 4 speed with 3.23 gears.
Here are the specs on the engine. 408 stroker all forged, edelbrock heads, rpm air gap, 1 inch spacer between the carb.. The cam specs are comp cams adv dur 282 290 & @ .050 244 252 lobe sep 110 valve lift .520 .540

it has all msd ign, and I have the black bushing in for 18* of swing, and the lightest springs in it.

the carb specs right now are 73 primary's 80' on the secondary, a 4.5 power valve, .055 pvrc, high speed bleed are .031's, idle bleed is .070, primary idle restriction is .035 and secondary is .033, it's got a .031 primary squirter and a .035 secondary

I have the idle speed set at about 800 rpm and I have the idle mixture set at around a 14.0 best I can tell due to the wideband bouncing around at idle.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks

Try a .031-.032 primary IFR. With 3.23's, you should still be on the transition slot so the IFR is where I would concentrate time and effort. You will need to readjust the mixture screws.

What is initial timing? Should be up close to 20* with a XS282s camshaft. Might need a bushing that limits advance to less than 18. I have some 10 and 14* bushings available.

I usually never run the two lightest springs in an MSD distributor. Light and medium is what I run most of the time on stuff like this.

Sound like a solid build and should run real strong.