Hotwire or S&P?

-

dustinwilt68

Reaction score
i have been doing my research for putting a 1998 5.9 motor and trand frm a ram into a 68 barracuda, I want a gd driver, PS,PB EFI and trans with OD. i noticed that booth of these companies are located in Mesa Arkansas. strange i thought. I am leaning towards hotwire since they are more into mopars and S&P is more GM:(. i was going to use the factory harness from truck like badass but i woulk like to use 8 3/4 rear and have my speedo functional,as well as the hotwire looks much simpler. i was wondering in anyone has used either of these companies and how was the product and assistance with it?

I used the Hotwire Hotrod harness for my 5.9 swap. I used a '98 truck ECM with manual trans from Solo Electronics in Florida. I had a tired junkyard 5.9 with 90 psi cranking compression in the #2 cylinder, but 150'ish lbs in all the rest, of them. I also had a Hughes cam with their springs and the 24 lbs 4-hole Ford injectors with the newer electrical connectors on them. It hooks up with only 4 wires. I did run a after cat O2 simulator, but I didn't need to. When I got the harness, the only problem I had was they left a ground wire for the Pre-cat O2 sensor open. It took me a while to figure that out. I was lucky I had access to a Matco scanner, which really helped me set up the EFI, including setting the fuel sync.

I was running a regular 727 with a shift kit and a 2200 stall converter with 3.23 rear end gears. The car ran hard. It's a convertible and was probably running in the mid 13's like that.

I'm swapping in a stroked 408", ported Eddie head motor with a little bigger cam, hooking it up to a Powerglide bellhousing, a Precision 3000 stall converter with a 3-disc lock-up clutch, a Stage 2 200R4 trans from Extreme Automatics and 3.91's with a Truetrac.