Ive been viewing a wile, but finally made an account

-

Blaine Davis

Reaction score
I figured i should do the proper thing and introduce myself, im a welder/fabricator with lots of experience in old Volkswagen repair, "doesn't help much here i know" but the ideas and skills translate, for my own cars ive got a 1973, 340 4-speed dart sport and an absolute dumpster fire of a 74 Plymouth duster, the Dart sport is my main project getting mini tubed and full AMD quarters, ive been taking pictures of all the metal work i do so if anyone is thinking of doing the same i can shed some wisdom

Welcome! Post some pics! And there is LOTS of Goof People, with Great info here!
Thats for sure, i started reading post on here when i got my Duster around 6ish years ago and everyone is super helpful, and heres some pictures of my current project, excuse the mess

IMG_20211015_175836011_HDR.jpg

IMG_20211013_144320022_HDR.jpg

IMG_20210924_134841519_HDR.jpg

IMG_20210928_162453678_HDR.jpg

Thanks, its getting there, ive been trying to make the mini tub as least noticable as possible and thats whats really been slowing me down
A friend of mine is a master collision tech at Caddy in Tampa. He's done a few. You really can't tell except for the tire tuck. Even looks stock in the trunk, just wider.

Welcome aboard looks like you got a great start on your project! That's some major surgery right there! I feel your pain im in the rust belt as well!

Welcome aboard looks like you got a great start on your project! That's some major surgery right there! I feel your pain im in the rust belt as well!
Thanks, luckily this car was garage kept for a long time before i bought it so the rust is just in the quarter and outer wheelhouses, a fair bit of crash damage though

Looking good I see you are doing a fine job and lots of us bodymen and painters here to help if you need us.
I just picked up a 73 VW Bug that I'm going to restore so might need some of your wisdom on fixing it.