Just A Thought - Shorty Headers

-

Thrashard340

Reaction score
I'm just throwing this out there to see if it garners any interest. There seems to have been some talk in the past about the lack of affordable shorty headers in the marketplace for A-bodies. I am about to forgo an experiment to design a header that will fit 70-76 A's with small block and power steering. The reason I choose these years is because I have a 73 Duster, small block, PS, console AT.

I do not have unlimited resources but plan on spending a considerable amount of money for the pilot set to get it right. I plan on taking some measurements and working with a local header company to help design a set. But I have never done this before so I am open to suggestions that will make this task more efficient. I have a background in sales, not engineering. I am looking to design something close to Hedman's shorty but with better fit near the K-member.

Has anyone done this before?

Do any members run or work for an exhaust header company?

Besides thick flanges and being able to clear steering gear. what other features would you like to see?

Would anyone consider paying $200-$300 dollars for a basic set? Given this is the average price of an off make shorty header in the current market.

Given my pilot set would cost nowhere near $200-$300, I would eventually plan on taking this to market. Obviously, shorties will not flow as well as full length headers, but I am trying to offer something in between full headers and manifolds with easier install at a reasonable cost. :headbang:

What do you think?

I think it would be a GREAT Idea. I REFUSE to pay the kind of money TTI wants for their headers...even though they fit the best its highway ROBBERY IMO. So yes something that actually fit EXCEPT manifolds would be greatly appreciated.

If you are going to go through the trouble why not design long tube headers?