Master Cylinder Change?

-

FomocoReformed

Reaction score
So while I'm laid up from working on the car with my hand injury I've been going over my plans in detail for putting everything back together and I have a question about the master cylinder.

My car was originally a manual brake car with 9in drums on all 4 corners. I now have a 73+ front disc setup with proportioning valve and the rear is an 8.8 from an explorer with the ford discs on it. I'd like to retain manual brakes since I love how they work when properly set up. Also for space saving in the engine bay. I know I need to buy a new master cylinder for the front discs but would a stock manual/disc master cylinder also be able to correctly actuate the ford rear discs or am I going to have a problem with incorrect hydraulic pressure in the lines? I think I remember reading something in the past about the rear drum setup MCs not completely releasing pressure from the lines to the drums, or I could be thinking of something completely different my memory isn't so great.

Any help on what MC I should use would be appreciated, or if I can modify a stock MC to work with the ford read discs. :burnout:

If you get an older MC, insure it doesn't have "residual valves" in the outlets. I understand most are removable (haven't seen). That is the problem with "locking up pressure" you read about if using disk brakes. Indeed, they aren't even needed for drum brakes since they changed to the "spring w/ caps" design.