Max valve lift questions

-

Peter J Boncella

Reaction score
1) if my cam has a intake valve lift of .500 with a rocker ratio of 1.5:1 , my actual valve lift is .750?

2) if the max valve lift of a cylinder head is .700 I would need to get a cam with around .450 lift with 1.5:1 rockers? or would a cam that has a valve lift of .650 work?

3) do they make 1:1 rocker arms?

4) what would be the consequences of having a cam with a valve lift that is more than the cylinder heads max valve lift?

I apologize if these are dumb questions, I am new to engine building and just trying to fully understand the rocker arm/valvetrain thank you.
(edit added question no.4)

Most cam manufacturers show lift with 1.5 rocker ratio. So if it says .500 valve lift that’s what it is. If you look at cam specs it should show lobe lift, that is what you would multiply by rocker ratio. So for example a cam with .395 lobe lift would be .5925 valve lift with a 1.5 rocker.

1. Don’t confuse lobe lift with valve lift. They are not the same. Lobe lift times rocker ratio is your nominal valve lift.

2. How did you calculate what the head’s max lift should be? Sometimes you can’t get all the lift you want (or need) because the lobe required by the limited rocker ratios available would make the lobe so aggressive you couldn’t use it.

3. No. That would be an overhead cam arraignment with the cam riding on a bucket (a big upside down bucket looking piece of junk).

4. See number 1. If you can fit the lobe with a reasonable grind, and your valve gear can handle the lift, more lift is almost always better.

2) if the max valve lift of a cylinder head is .700 I would need to get a cam with around .450 lift with 1.5:1 rockers? or would a cam that has a valve lift of .650 work?