Missing Carb part?

-

Warlux

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I have a 67 Dart with a 318 in it. It's my first classic car and I'll start from the beginning for some context. I recently had an accelerator pump diaphragm leak. I have very little carburetor experience but decided to tackle it myself. Unfortunately a previous owner at some point stripped out the diaphragm cover threads and jammed a bunch of copper wire in there to get everything to stay tight. This lead to me replacing the fuel float bowl and adjusting the float level.

I thought it went fairly well, and the car starts, idles, and accelerates well, but when I go to rev match on my downshift, the quick blip on the gas is causing it to bog down and nearly stall out. It never had this issue before.

On to the issue at hand. I got it home and removed the air filter and was just looking at the carb when I noticed a couple places where it looked like "something should be there" and found just a hanging loose piece that seems to me could be used for tension. Fearing that I knocked something off when I was working on it. I googled my carb, compared it to old pictures before the leak, and sure enough it looks like I'm missing a part on top, a flap of some type. I have attached pictures.

My question is, if it ran so well before the leak, was this part removed for a reason? What is this part called and what does it do? Is this the cause of my bogging down when I rev match?

Thanks in advance!
PXL_20220409_151829008.jpg
PXL_20220507_223535838.jpg

Pull all that choke junk off the side of the carb. You don’t need it. Just remove the three slotted screws and take all that off. Unless you want to find a choke plate and shaft and put that junk back on.

They removed the choke flap...

If you drive it in cold weather, you will need it.... If no cold weather, then you may be able to get away without it...