My 72 Swinger Project

-

dran42

72 Dart Swinger
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm new to the A-Bodies forum. I think I'll like it here... I asked my first question to 5.7dart & he answered it right away, so I hope the whole community is like that.

This is my first Mopar, but I do remember my father brought home a used Daytona Superbird, and my Mom came unglued at what she called a hiddious car, Of course my dad took it back & got a Torino GT (I hear my dad tell that story over and over) & he wishes he'd got that Daytona. I'm 40 yrs old & I remember all the muscle cars running around.

My project is a 72 Dart Swinger, its powerplant is a 360, 8 3/4 rear with 3.91 gears, the body wasnt bad except around the rear wheels. I'm changing the color to a sunset fire pearl, with a black tail stripe. The interior is getting a make over too. Its due to come out of paint next week and I cant wait to get it back. This is the car when I picked it up.

0641304163222.jpg

untitled1a.jpg

Welcome to FABO. :-D Lots of friendly and knowledgeable people here.

Great looking Swinger you've got. Looks like you're well on your way with the restoration. The color choice sounds beautiful.

Welcome. Looks like you are doing a fine job on your Dart. I also have a '72 Dart. I finished most items: interior, paint (I changed it from gold to red) I am so glad I took my son's color choice it is nice. I completed the suspension and cleaned up the motor and all the other stuff and now to save up for the bigger small block engine. I currently have a nice 318 but I want the 360. I will start on it next month if all goes well. But I love driving it now and want to get more in before I start in on the other engine work. Again, my compliments on a very nice car.

Thanks, The color choice was from seeing this car in the sunlight at the local Shine & Show. I'm using all PPG products, Plus its kind of like the original copper color the dart had in 1970, with a bit more orange.

picture 024a.jpg