Need help IDing my 340 motor

-

MrDuster

Reaction score
I decoded my VIN (VN29H1E103516) and it matches what I found on my fender tag for a 1971 340 4bbl Duster. My transmission matches the last 4 of the VIN. My question is how do I know this is a matching engine? I thought it was matching as I found a 2780930-340-3 on the block drivers side and found that to be a LA family 1968-73….but the number on the pax side above the oil pan and below the water drain hole appears to be 019754 9. The last 9 looks a little smaller. I've bought this car around 1982 and the engine and tranny had been rebuilt by the dealer in Chinook, MT. Any help would be appreciated as I'm a novice!!

I found this link to help us newbies ID mopar small block engines.
[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7IPrBInZ-8"]Chrysler smallblock engine ID *by the numbers* - YouTube[/ame]
Called the guy who sold me the car 30+ years ago and he remembered me! He remembered a wrist pin coming loose and trashing the original motor. Put in another 340 with high compression…too bad it's not original!

That video forgot the last 8 of vin likely stamped on pass side, just above pan rail.

That's a 70 motor and not original to your car. The last few #s on the block should match the last few #s on your vin. Sorry to break the news to you.

Thanks for the info... wish it all matched. I looked at the casting date on the block pax side and it was a 70. Numbers on drivers side block below head and behind power steering pump is 0 340P33720248. There is a space between the 0 and 340...can anyone decode this number?

My memory on the 10,000 day calender is a little foggy, but i believe the 3372 equals out to...... Wed, Oct 21 1970.

Crackedback can confirm this for sure..........or give me crap for being a dummy......lol. No better guy to get the business from though, believe me :D.