Need some advice

-

Swinger803

1973 Dart Swinger 225
Reaction score
Hey guys..I could use some help. I am a rookie to the world of slants. I've got a 73 Swinger 225 that I'm working towards restoring. I would like to keep the motor as "stock" looking as possible, however I would like some more power out of the motor. Some of you guys have done some amazing things with your 225s..

Advice or tips are greatly appreciated!!!

Mill the head

Super Six intake

Electronic or HEI ignition

2 1/4 exhaust pipe to rear

3.21 gears

Mill the head

Super Six intake

Electronic or HEI ignition (have it)

2 1/4 exhaust pipe to rear

3.21 gears

for looking stock thats about it lol...

although i am a big fan of the petronix upgrade... then you dont have to run the stupid ign box... but being a 73 its already electronic... so why are we bothering with that lol...

the rest is good...

maybe a little cam to

You might look into 198 rods or K1? rods as well. I do not remember if that is the correct name. Look up SlantsixDan. He knows EVERYTHING about slant six engines. Bore the block and put in a decent set of pistons. After the engine is squared away, the rear would be the weak link.

It really depends on what YOU want and what YOUR budget can stand.

Welcome! The first tip is to decide what exactly you want the car to do differently than it does now, and figure out how much money and time you've got for the project. Remember also that when the car can go faster and quicker, it needs to steer and stop faster and quicker, too.