New guy with a 1973 Plymouth Valiant 4 door

-

ALEX NEILL

Soup Sandwich
Reaction score
Hey folks,
Just bought a 1973 Plymouth Valiant 4 door. It's got a slant 6, and some rust. Well... probably more than just a little rust. Back two rear quarter panels are rusted at the bottom, got some rocker panel rust and looks like a little under the vinyl top. The floor pan is also rotted up at the fornt on the left and right side of the tranny hump.

My goal with this car is to make it a sleeper. Nothing fancy except under the hood and body. I like white walls and hub caps. Bench seats are cool and you can't beat a school bus steering wheel. I'm new to the Mopar experience. Anxious to get involved though. I've been searching the web vigorously for parts and photos so get some ideas. Hoping I can find some expert advice here though.

I'd like to upgrade the motor to a V-8 but right now the priority is get the rust monster under control. Can anyone provide some insight to where I can find new rocker panels, rear quarter panels, and a new floor pan ? Any help to point me in the right direction would be appreciated. Also, would a 440 fit in the engine compartment or is it too much ? Perhaps a 360 ?

Thanks,
Alex

IMG_0040.jpg

IMG_0039.jpg

A 440 will fit right in there. Nice looking car. Good luck with the build. Welcome to FABO! You have come to the right place. Some great people around with a lots of knowledge. Jump on in and have fun.

Welcome !
A four door with a 440 ! That would be one killer sleeper !
Good luck with your project glad to have you here .

Thanks guys.
I'm really excited about this project. The real cool part about it is that the wife is behind me. Took some swindling, and a few hugs and kisses for good measure but I have the boss' support.

Alex