New to wire welding

-

Crazy4408pac

N. Michigan
Reaction score
Have some pix and some questions. Below are some pix of the welds on the new floor pan, in my 72 Swinger. Not the best but ok for my first time. I can stick weld and oxy braze, quit well. Learned many years ago in high school. This is my first try at wire. Used a cheapo Chicago Electric 90AMP flux wire and .030" wire.

My next thing will be the (pardon me if I don't use the correct terms), lips on the fenders. I plan on buying new inner fenders. Too bad they don't re-pop fenders.

Here's a question: Should I cut a piece the full length or use a couple of pieces then tack them together after welding them to the fender?

Have 73 Charger with a 440/727/489, that I will be pulling out and putting in the Dart. Will be using an Alter-K for that.

I'm going to try and get the Dart done as far as body work and the Alter-K before I pull the Charger apart. I'll be using the drive shaft and the pumpkin from the Charger, in the Dart. Have a 70 B-Body 8 3/4 I'll be using. Just have to move the perches in 1/2"

Attachments

• welds2.jpg
    22.5 KB · Views: 247
  • welds1.jpg
    26.9 KB · Views: 255
  • passfend.jpg
    31.6 KB · Views: 252
  • drvsidfend.jpg
    36.7 KB · Views: 241
  • drvsd2.jpg
    40.3 KB · Views: 230
just my $.o2. Go to wire with gas. heat low. wire speed slow. Move stinger quickly. Roughly 1" per second. Hard to get used to but it works. PRACTICE PRACTICE PRACTICE.

What he said. Flux core wire is not as good for sheet metal as thin wire and argon shielding gas. Much cleaner results.