paint job gone bad and need help

-

63dartman

Reaction score
I started painting my son's 70 mustang(I know) and I'm not sure where I screwed up. It was a single stage urethane crossfire metallic from NAPA. I have runs everywhere. I think I screwed up by trying to lay too much paint on the first coat and using a 1.4 tip. What size tip is correct for single stage urethane and what can I do to fix it? Can I just sand off the shine and lay a few more coats?

After it dries good you should be able to sand out the runs and spray it again. You will have lots of material on it by the time you are done so it might not age as well as it could, it might be prone to cracking.

I had runs in my clear coat. I was told by an old pro to use brand new razor blades to plane the runs down, before wetsanding to even it all out. Hold the razor blade with two hands, one on each side of the blade and scrape off the excess material. Once it's as low as you dare to go, wetsand the panel to even it all out. After that you can re-shoot the panel. If the runs are bad, sanding them without taking the razor to them first could make you cut through the surrounding paint all the way to the primer, or worse.

Thanks for the razor blade tip. If I plan on shooting the whole car again do I need to scuff it to remove the gloss. Thanks for the replies too.

Shaving the runs is a good tip with a razor blade. Then wet sand the bad area's you can read the spec sheets on the paint to see how long the recoat time is. Personally I would knock any orange peel, runs, dirt nibs, and any imperfections down and re paint the car. Do some test panels first, check your reduction also. Practice a bit before you get on the car again.

Suggestions so far have been good, although they will only work for a solid color. You said its a metallic paint, if there is any metal flake in the paint you'll have to repaint after you cut down the runs or sand them down.