Power/Manual Steering Column Swap

-

CornDog

Reaction score
This is my first time to do a manual steering to power steering swap. Before I go to all the trouble yanking out two columns I just wanted to make sure that I'm not missing anything. With much research already being done on this site, I still have a few questions....

Here is what I have:
I have a '71 Duster that has a 6cyl and auto trans. The car has manual steering with the shifter on the column.

The other car is a '72 Duster that also has a 6cyl and auto trans. This car has power steering with the shifter on the floor.

What I would like to do is swap it out so that the '71 Duster still retains the manual steering but shifts on the floor. I know the shafts at the end of the column are different (manual being long and power being short). I have heard that all I need to do is swap out columns and then swap out the shafts. My biggest concern is what to do with all of the internal linkage on the column shifted unit.

Just to have a floor-shifted auto, is this more trouble than it is worth?? Any advice is greatly appreciated... Thanks!!!

Justin
"CornDog"

Install the power steering column and get a power to manual adapter. Several companies make them. Flaming river, Mopar Performance, etc......

I just changed my power steering car to manual and used one. Very simple.

You can see the one I chose in this pic.

faucet pics 642.jpg

So, you're just trying to put a steering column from a car with power steering in a car with manual steering? Firm Feel has adapters to adapt power steering columns to manual boxes. They go for about $125.