rear brake drum adjustment clearence drag ? problem ? 74 valiant

-

moparjon

Reaction score
hi , need help or ideas with a brake issue i am having .

trying to get the valiant road / trip worthy for Carlisle on friday morning . which is about a 2 1/2 hours one way . i got a bunch of other stuff done , this is the last thing ( i hope ) . 3 days left .

what has happened so far is i was trying to adjust the brakes ( which , by the way , i have very little experience with ) because they were pulling to one side during braking and a thought they might be dragging. i was kinda in a hurry which i know is not the smartest or safest . so , i backed ALL 4 drums off as far as i could ( the fronts backed off alot , the rears , not much at all . drove it like that for short trips , like 2 to 6 miles and worked ok , as in not dangerous ( i wouldn't drive it if it was ) . stopped well , still pulled a little , but i thought not dragging.

then i took it for about a 40 minute ride , ( moderate amount of braking ) when i got back the rear drums were hot , even the wheel covers were hot , fronts were fine . so i then adjusted the fronts properly ( i think ) . going all the way tight , then backing off till spins freely with a very slight drag .

then i removed the rear wheels , just to have a look and the drivers side drum would not come off . i backed the star adjuster all the way off , which was barely a few turns/clicks and it was still hard to come off but did . passenger side same , but backed off a few turns more .