Rearend modification costs?

-

Kent mosby

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
I have a 73 scamp that I am putting a 440 in. I need to change the 7 inch rear. Finding an 8 3/4 inch is hard around here. North Idaho. What would be the cost estimates for using a B body 8 3/4 housing and have it cut to size and new perches and axles. Someone has to have done this. Ford 8.8 inch rears are plentiful. What would it take to make one of those work? Any suggestions? Other options? I am just getting started on this so I will have many questions. Great site for answers.

Another option would be to get a housing for an A body and get the suregrip pumpkin and axles. How much would that cost?. If I could pick up the housing for 700, would that be good?

8 3/4 B body with the right wheel offset no modifications if it is early B body like a 67. When you talk cost are you talking labor. An 8.8 will cost you total from 200.00 for complete with discs and figure another 150.00 to 400 for a drive shaft. The drive shaft you will have to do regardless of which rear you are gonna do. There is an 8.8 Seap thread on this site that has all the info.

I have a 73 scamp that I am putting a 440 in. I need to change the 7 inch rear. Finding an 8 3/4 inch is hard around here. North Idaho. What would be the cost estimates for using a B body 8 3/4 housing and have it cut to size and new perches and axles. Someone has to have done this. Ford 8.8 inch rears are plentiful. What would it take to make one of those work? Any suggestions? Other options? I am just getting started on this so I will have many questions. Great site for answers.

Another option would be to get a housing for an A body and get the suregrip pumpkin and axles. How much would that cost?. If I could pick up the housing for 700, would that be good?