Shift Kit

-
That's my personal favorite street/strip shift kit and I've been rebuilding torqueflites for 32 yrs. If you don't have one get yourself a good inch lb torque wrench. 1/4 or 3/8 drive is fine. Since your dealing with mostly aluminum components it's always better to torque things. While your at it get a good neoprene embossed steel core pan gasket. They seal far better then the std. cork gaskets and are re-usable. Also, while you have it apart, replace the front seal if it's very old.

Sounds good, I'll go with the TF2 then and that gasket.
Front seal? The seal in the tail housing around the driveshaft was leaking so I had it replaced and that's the only one I know about (other than internal ones). What filter would you recommend, I was thinking of the wix one http://www.summitracing.com/parts/wix-58707
Fishy68 - I've got a 904 in my driveway right now that I'm contemplating keeping and rebuilding, how hard is it to rebuild a torqueflight? I've heard it's pretty easy as long as you follow the correct steps.

Front seal is the one around the staff behind the converter.Sounds like it is still in the car?If so replace the two seals on the shifter also.I did mine with the engine out and it was a huge pain,but alot worse if the motor was in.The shift shaft seal is around the shifter and I used a metal screw to drive down into it and pryed it out but you will need a deep well socket big enuff to go over the shifter to drive the seal on striaght(this was the huge pain part) not much swinging room for a hammer.The other seal is held in with a clip on top of the shifter shaft,its pretty simple to change.

ya it's in the car with no plan on taking it out anytime soon (until motor comes out) so I'll probably do all the seals then if I'm not going to replace the tranny any time soon.

ya it's in the car with no plan on taking it out anytime soon (until motor comes out) so I'll probably do all the seals then if I'm not going to replace the tranny any time soon.