Thoughts, Opinions Wanted

-

'64 Cuda

Reaction score
This is an idea that I've been kicking around for years & I'm wondering what everybody here thinks. If I decide to keep my fenderwell headers, I was wondering about an exhaust like this. Hope you'll excuse my crude drawing, but it's my first attempt at drawing something on a computer in almost 20 years.

The drawing is a top side view of a left side exhaust. I'd use U bends but it was easier for me to draw it like it is with squarish corners. The rectangle in the middle is a muffler. I could use a glasspack instead, but this gives the general idea. The exhaust from the header would enter the collector at the front of the muffler (top in the drawing). It would exit at the back & enter a U bend towards the center of the car. It would then go back up to the front of the muffler & cross over under collector area & circle back towards the rear of the car just behind the wheelwell & under the driver side door. Here there would be 4 angle cut tips, all functional. It would give the look of "Zoomies" exiting under the side of the car. All the pipes would probably be 2 1/2". I know from experience that a small block exiting a turbo muffler into short 2 1/2" pipes can sound pretty threatening.

Maybe I could have 2 exhaust systems. Put this on for cruising, but have something that exits farther back if I ever wanted to take an extended trip with the car (yeah, right, with 3.91s! LOL). So, aside from the obvious concerns of fumes getting into the passenger compartment, burning my leg & the noise from having the exhaust exit right below your ears, what do you think? Am I crazy? Would it be Bad-***? I'm ready for whatever you have to say.

Exhaust Zoomies.jpg