Time For A Career Change

-

Wylde1

"No Value Added" Member
Reaction score
I've been sitting on my butt since November 15, 2009 when I lost my newspaper runs. I've been thinking long and hard about what I want to do with my life. I keep coming back to the same thing - VooDoo Witch Doctor. Ok scratch that. I'm not gonna stick a bone through my nose! :toothy10:

So at the ripe old age of 43, where does that leave me? Here's what I've come up with. But I do not know if age will be a factor in any of them???

1. Long-haul truck driver coast to coast.
  2. Heavy equipment operator.
  3. Tower crane operator.
  4. Heavy lift crane operator.
I probably should have looked into these when I was 18 instead of now. Anyone have any experience with any of these professions? When I was looking into local trucking schools, one also offers heavy equipment courses.

Past jobs include working in a garage for 6 years - hated it. Maybe that's why I drag my feet whenever I need to work on my cars.
Local courier driver door to door. Easy money but lost my license more than once.
Worked in high tech (Fiber optics) for 10 years. Managed a crew of 30. Worked with engineers debugging new products. Wrote technical procedure manuals for products. Worked with R&D doing optical work for experimental projects - I was their #1 go-to guy. It was a great job until the bubble burst and I watched the company go from over 10,000 workers to less than 100. Also watched my $300,000 in stock options drop to $1,500. I couldn't cash out when the stock were sky high.
Got into delivering newspapers while waiting for the axe to fall in high tech. Worked both jobs for 6 months. Sadly, I made the most I have ever earned with the 3 newspapers runs, although there were no benefits at all.

Wylde1.

mack_truck-en-elaziz.jpg

cat-heavy-equipment.jpg

cat-heavy-construction-equipment.jpg

caterpillar-757218.jpg

cat_home_ce.jpg

cat heavy.jpg

building&tower-crane-s.jpg

heavy lift.jpg