Too much timing in distributor.

-

cuda67

Reaction score
What do I need to buy to be able to limit total timing in a MP electronic dist.? Right now the car runs pretty good but I can't less than 45* total timing and it is all in at 2500 rpm. What is the kit I need to correct this? I am a novice and don't know what the kit is called. Is it springs weights???

Thanks for all advice.

You might be able to adjust it out with the vacuum can. It has an allen screw inside the vacuum hose nipple. I said nipple.....heh heh heh huh huh huh

Unhook the vacuum advance and re-check the timing to see what it is? If it's still 45 total you need to limit how far the centrifugal advance weights travel. Some MP distributors are adjustable while others aren't. If it's not adjustable the only way to limit it is to weld up the slots. BTW: if the timing is in by 2500 the springs sound like their right on.

You might be able to adjust it out with the vacuum can. It has an allen screw inside the vacuum hose nipple. I said nipple.....heh heh heh huh huh huh

Tried that. It didn't work. Thanks

Unhook the vacuum advance and re-check the timing to see what it is? If it's still 45 total you need to limit how far the centrifugal advance weights travel. Some MP distributors are adjustable while others aren't. If it's not adjustable the only way to limit it is to weld up the slots. BTW: if the timing is in by 2500 the springs sound like their right on.

With the vacuum advance connected the dial timing light couldn't show the degrees, off the chart. I got the 45* with the vacuum plugged and all in at 2500. For now I have the vacuum plugged but I would like to get total time down some. How can I tell if my dist. is adjustable? Thanks

What's your initial (idle) with vacuum disconnected and plugged.

The initial timing is 14 degrees with the vacuum disconnected and plugged.