"Training" Fiberglass

-

SpeedThrills

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
I'm trying to get myself to start doing the bodywork on my Duster. It's my least favorite part of the hobby. Mostly because I hate messes; and it makes a mess of my garage! It's one of those things that once I get started, it's okay. But anyway...

One problem is the fiberglass fender has a bulge in it, which lowers the top of it. If I push in on the bulge, I can get the alignment close enough that I could work with it. But it won't stay where I move it. The 2 pictures should show what I mean.
I tried pushing it with a 2 x 4 that was wedged between the fender and the garage wall. It was pushed farther than needed. I left it there for a month or two, but it didn't budge.

Is there a way to retrain the shape?

I'm not a body man by trade, but I've done some in the past. My goal is to do enough to get it close, and let the (unknown, at this time) shop that paints it finish it.

KI8hlc.&owa=outlook.live.com&scriptVer=20230526012.jpg

mHMxUc.&owa=outlook.live.com&scriptVer=20230526012.jpg

Last edited:
You could try heat, but I'm pretty sure fiberglass resin are thermoset polymers.

Once cured there is no going back.

Think about trying to un fry an egg, once it is cooked you can not turn it back into its yoke and white.

My guess is cutting grinding and reshaping is in your future.

Okay, sounds like a test, but I'm up for it. I kinda figured there was no easy way out. But that 'glass is light!
I'm going to start with simple stuff elsewhere on the car to get up to speed.
I was fortunate to learn the ropes when I was a mechanic in a resto shop, in the 80's. When mechanical work was slow, I'd help in the body shop.
I have a couple other things going on, (I'm installing gears and a traction lock in my F150 for one), then the Duster body.