Unhappy....Paint

-

oneway71

Reaction score
So today I had a 2005 Jeep Rubicon come in for a new hood and a touch up on the front fender. So I primed and painted the hood and fender. The Paint did not match. Was it mixed wrong? It is just too dark. A little frustration..........

This is my first time not painting an entire vehicle. All my others paint jobs have been classics and full restorations.

The worst part; it was for a family member....the only reason I squeezed it in and now I am unhappy with the results....

The sun and weather will change the color over 5 years. That's most likely the issue.

What color or code was it? Did you blend adjacent panels? There aren't to many colors that you can panel paint.
I've been restoring cars and been working in the collision industry as a Body/Paint tech for 23 years.
Restoring cars and collision work are 2 different animals!
Depending on what clear you used, sometimes that can darken up a color if it was a speed clear.

What color or code was it? Did you blend adjacent panels? There aren't to many colors that you can panel paint.
I've been restoring cars and been working in the collision industry as a Body/Paint tech for 23 years.
Depending on what clear you used, sometimes that can darken up a color if it was a speed clear.

I would rather restore.

The Jeep was white, pw1 It did spend a few years in the Nevada sun. Now it resides in Wisconsin. ( I had to drive to WI last weekend and pick it up, and need to return it next weekend)

I think the biggest problem was that he didnt want to put any money into it; and I used a single stage cheap paint! I did paint the whole fender because I knew I would have trouble blending it.

I used the same color ground coat. So it mainly is the brand and single stage.

On a Restoration it would have been PPG or HOK.

This was a freebie job for my Dad; thats the only reason I tried to squeeze it in.

I would rather restore.