What should I do for now?

-

75slant6

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Ok so I'm nowhere close to starting on body work but my car has a lot of surface rust and I'd like get the metal covered. What would y'all suggest I do here? Strip it down and prime it? I was planning on doing the mechanicals first but should I strip the exterior down and epoxy prime and seal it then when I'm ready to replace the quarters just cut out what I need and stripe a small area around the welding surfaces?

View attachment image.jpg

Wow Caleb, that is a lot of rust. Did you sand it down yourself, thinking it was going into paint soon? im no paint expert, but my thought is, you had better do something with it soon.

Personally I would sand it down to bare metal, then chemically treat the microscopic rust that will definitely be remaining. Then use a good epoxy primer and then paint! You can do it yourself. The hardest work is all in the prep, and when it comes to the actual spraying, just be patient with it!

Go out and get yourself a good manual / book and follow it closely! At the very minimum, I would prime it and then paint with "Blitz Black" which is a satin black, very forgiving, and very inexpensive. Just do as good as you can with the prep work and masking.

The car is really solid as far as structure goes, the only rust through I've found is in the tail end (lower 1/4s, trunk floor and some around the trunk lip) it appears like someone started sanding it down and never finished. The car is sitting in my shop now so its out of the weather but I'd like to do something so it can't get worse.

Clear coat it and throw in a big block with a 4 spd!!!
I dig the rusty look on this duster, not a big fan of that, but for some reason I love the way your duster looks!

depends how dry your climate is.

if you live in a really dry place then don't worry about it and save your money and sweat.