Wish me luck !

-

AdamR

Big Member
Reaction score
The Scamps engine bay will be at least in primer tonight if not in color. This is my first time laying down paint that didnt come out of a spray can.

Go Gettum Adam. I'm sure it will turn out right. Do you have compressor and equipment? Are you doing it at home? I'm considering doing my car myself and have never sprayed either. Good luck and take your time. Mike :wav:

Hello AdamR, I am sure you will do just fine, Just remember to do a fog coat first
and then come back and do a little heavier coat the second time.
Hope everything go's well and if you do put color on do the same with it.
Just a fog coat then a little heavier on the second coat let it get tacky between color coat's. Have fun with it and every thing will be good.

What type of paint are you using? A test panel would be a good idea. If you're using single stage one mistake a lot of people make is dry spraying, not putting on a heavy enough coat. It should be heavy enough that it almost runs, but not so heavy that it does. If you are too light with it you'll see that it doesn't have a great shine to it, looks almost like older oxidized paint. If you have an old trunk lid it wouldn't hurt to give it a try as a test. We all have a different idea of what a heavy coat is so test panels are a great way to see what you're doing especially if you've never done it before. Also, what type of primer are you using, idealy epoxy is best left for another day before top coating. Good luck

Im spraying epoxy first. I'll let it dry over night and probably will sand it out with some 320 before spraying the Urathane top coat.