340 intake on a 273???

-

65Cudafix

Reaction score
FABO,

So, there I was all fat, dumb and happy sitting on Craigslist eating pork rinds, when what to my wandering eyes should appear but a 1964, 273 engine with a 340 4 barrel intake for $100. It's like Christmas in June I thought!!! All I have to do was drive across the state and part with a Benjamin... So, why not?? I've never even heard of a 340 intake on a 1st Generation 273, but I figure there could be an angle to it...

Anyway, here's the picture:
IMG_0764.JPG

As you may recall, I'm a rookie and have no knowledge or experience, but I believe the PO (prior owner) wasn't lying cause the intake is Blue and the engine is Red...

Here are the numbers for the intake:

FullSizeRender-7.jpg

I'm guessing the build date is the 3-28-83.. Not sure hat the 8ZC and DND refer to below it... Then theres the firing order and I guess the intake or part number is 4173915 and is that a sideways heart or a 3??? Other intake markings include the DIST ROTATION direction... and random numbers and such.

Didn't see the build date on the engine but came across 2465330-2 :
IMG_0775.JPG

If someone can let me know where to look for the build date on the engine, we can see if it "really is a '64"... Am I reading these numbers right? Are there other clues printed on the engine that will reveal even MORE of the story? (If so, please let me know, I bought a can of degreaser just in case...)

I'm sure you have all seen more remarkable stuff, but does anyone think this could work??