1965 dart slant six v8 swap information

-

Shaun65dart

Reaction score
hey guys. I have a 65 dart 270 with the 225 slant 6 and 904 auto trans. manual drum brakes and stock rear end. I want to start gathering an engine and parts needed for the swap.

I have read that i will need a v8 k member, but some also say i dont. Will my 904 trans work or what would be best? i do want to keep it automatic. Wouldnt be opposed to making it a floor shift either

I would be looking at a 318/340/360. would be running a carbed setup. what years would be best to look at? Im a newbie when it to mopars. I have searched but just trying to get the exact info needed for my 65

Can you guys help me out with a list of what i would need?

Your K member is fine. They use the same K member from 63 to 66 for a slant 6 or a small block V8. your transmission will not work though. You will need one with a larger Bell on the front for a V-8. If you're hoping to keep the same cable shift, then you need to find one specific to a 65 as they are one year only. You will need V8 motor mounts from an early V-8 A body and you will need to modify the passenger side one with an extra year for a bolt. You may want to upgrade torsion bars and you are going to have to find a different gas pedal, the drop steering center link, and throttle cable for a V-8. Exhaust manifolds from an early V8 would be a good idea, although there are other options that will work.
What did I miss?

Last edited:
what years and models of transmission would be suitable? 727? i dont need to keep the cable shift. I plan on converting the car to bucket seats and putting the shifter on the floor anyway. when you say exhaust manifolds from an early v8, how early? are there any headers that will work? can i upgrade to power brakes/steering?