1968 Plymouth Valiant 100

-

mjbarbee516

Reaction score
I'm finally in possession of a vehicle older than me. I'm new to restoring cars, but not new to general maintenance.
It's a pretty basic car, no power assist on anything. It's got the 115hp slant 6 engine with 60k miles. I'm kind of lucky (maybe) that it has an automatic transmission. It runs and drives.
My first task is replacing what looks like a 47 year old brake system. I've seen brake dust before in drums, but not like this. The second task installing the new gas tank. After that is a general tune-up, fluid & filter changes.
Exterior is pretty good, only a small softball sized hole in the front passenger side quarter panel by the door.
Interior looks like an old car interior, a rip in the seat and no carpet on the floor. (Did it have carpet?)
The tires on it are P185/80R13 but I don't think those are right. The owner's manual says 650.13. I'm at a loss on those if these aren't the original rims.

My goal is to restore it as close to factory as possible.
Advice & Comments Welcome, Please :)

I'll post more pics once it's off the trailer. Hopefully these pics work.

Welcome to FABO.Nice find..couple members here love the More-doors.I had one about 30 yrs ago..ran like a top.Good luck.:D

It looks like somebody relocated the fuel filler location on your Valiant. That patch on the driver side quarter is the tell tale. You said it has no carpet. Is the floor bare, or is there a rubber mat? Some of the bare bones cars had rubber mats instead of carpet. Post a picture of the tag on the driver side inner fender. Someone on this site will help you de-code it and tell you how your car was optioned from the factory. Post a few more pictures that include the interior, engine bay, and trunk. Nice Valiant, by the way. Welcome to FABO!

Hi!