4 speed at the track - tips?

-

danmc77

Reaction score
Taking my 68 Charger to the track this September with a few guys from Mopar Misfits (Abodyjoe's site). this will be my first time at a track ever - looking for some tips so i don' look like a fool. The car is a 4 speed, so mainly looking for some tips to get the best launch, and get down the track as fast as possible.

Also - forget about the fact that I have zero experience at the track - but ideally, what do you think the car can do in the 1/4? How much HP do you think I'm making?

68 Charger - manual steering, torque thrust II 15" wheels
MT ET Street rear tires - 275/60/15
3.55 suregrip
stock a833 tranny w/ hurst comp shifter
sub frame connectors
XHD rear leafs
440 .060 over around 10.3:1 CR - zero deck hieght
eddy dual roller chain
SpeedPro hypereutectic pistons
Eddy RPM heads shaved to 75cc chambers, race valve job, and cleaned up ports
comp roller rockers
comp hi-tech custom push rods
Huhges springs (1106)
hughes hydro cam - 548/555 lift 237/242 duration 108* lobe separation
performer RPM intake
850 Speed Demon carb
Mallory 6AL and Unilite distributor
stock rods and crank
hi-flow oil pump
windage tray
headers
3" exhaust

that's all I can think of right now.

Good luck on your first trip to the strip!

You are going to be overwhelmed with all the stuff that a 4-speed driver has to be thinking about on the starting line. If you are going to be racing your car in the trim that you described...........

- forget about doing a burnout. It does no good for street tires. Drive around the water box and do a quick dry hop or two just to make sure the tire tread is clean.