440 problems/quenching?/advice needed

-

dkbug

Reaction score
Ok, I reached out to people on a facebook post and got blown away by the information. I a 24 with experience with mechanics and the assembly but not much on the technical side of compression/combustion facts. So I turn to you guys to school me up.

I am a mechanical engineering student in my senior year, so don't be afraid to throw some big words at me....

The motor runs and drives, but I had a go kart in middle school that I think was 5 hp that ran MUCH better than this... The 440 is detonating.

I did some reading on quenching and how it effects performance while avoiding detonation. From what I gathered, quenching is basically the excitement of the fuel in a specifically correct amount of space between the piston and the flat part of the chamber. Quenching from what I understand it to be, helps with fuel combustion and "atomization" of the fuel providing great longevity and effectiveness of the process. Phew, that is very hard to explain and it sure took me awhile to get into my head.

Here is my combo. I understand why I am having a problem, I am just here to learn how to fix it.

440 - 1978 block.

FROM WHAT I HAVE BEEN TOLD~~~

it is a stock stroke with a 20/20 crank
stock rods
aftermarket flat top pistons (.030) WITHOUT VALVE RELIEFS
ZERO DECKED....
I have 516 close chambered heads from a 1967 383
fresh valve job with very little porting done
springs to match the cam
STOCK VALVE ROCKER ASSEMBLY... I know..
Weiand dual plane intake
750 edle carb

Cam specs~~~
Mopar performance .528 purple mechanical camshaft/ I measured this lift to be correct.
Didn't calculate the duration..

Now when you guys stop laughing at obvious mistakes... feel free to chime in to what I can do to have a decent cruising street motor. I have no intention on going 11 in a quarter mile or blowing the doors off of someone. Just want to enjoy the car.