67 Dart AC out again.

-

Mopar92

Reaction score
If there is one area I never fully learned on the old Mopars, it's the AC side of things. I have a survivor 67' Dart GT with a 273 in it. The AC worked for a little bit when I first got the car 10 years ago. I'm motivated to fix it this spring. The guy who sold it to me had some old school refrigerant left and juiced it up for me. I'm really interested to know where I should look and what I should retro to get it going again. Are the old compressors and evaporators compatible with the newer refrigerants? I'm not really into the GM sanden look of a new compressor but I suppose if that's the logical route, I will accept it. Is this something a do it yourself guy can get back up and going or is this an AC shop only deal? Not sure where to start. Thanks for the suggestions in advance.

Hi,

Auto A/C is something you can learn to do yourself. I have been doing my own for well over 30 years. You'll need some equipment, a vacuum pump and a gauge set. You can rent, borrow or buy these things. The factory shop manual fully covers working on the A/C system and you really should have a copy of it.

You will have to decide if you are going to keep the old R-12 refrigerant or change over to newer R-134A. Your old system components will work with either. but, you will get the best performance with R-12. R-12 is still available although you need a 609 permit to buy it.

Changing to R-134A is a bit more involved as the oil in the system will have to be changed to a R-134A compatible type and all the O ring seals will need to be changed to a compatible type. The receiver/drier will also need to be changed to an R-134A compatible type.