-

Joep

Reaction score
So heres my setup

71 demon 440
TCI 10 inch converter
727 trans
8 3/4 rear end with 3.91 gears

My problem is that when the car is cold it takes loads of power to get the darn thing moving! It could take up to 3500 rpms just to get it to start creeping. Now I haven't been at this for too long so im no expert but im pretty sure even with the 3.91 gears it shouldn't take that much to get it moving. When it warms up it seems to not take so much effort. The other day it was parked in my girlfriends parents and I wanted to get it out of there so they could have there garage back, my girlfriends mom wasn't feeling that well that day and was trying to sleep and the darn thing was just about screaming down the driveway! Anyone got any ideas as to what it might be?

Oh boy thats good news. I don;t know when it was last replaced so thats probably a good place to start.

If it was actually the trans slipping it would be fried to a crisp and the fluid would be burned black.
More likely it has a converter problem that needs to be addressed.
A good question for TCI maybe.

If your fluid is red and normal looking it's not the trans slipping, so what else is there in the chain of powerflow that could cause a loss of connection between the engine and trans?
(The converter right?)

Of course this assumes your filter isn't dirty and blocking fluid flow to the converter. :D

haha now thats the answer i was expecting. The fluid is pretty red to my eye so that must not be a good sign. But for all I know is that the filter is dirty and im hoping that is all that the problem is. The last thing i want to do right now is to dig in to tranny world when id rather just drive it haha

If it was actually the trans slipping it would be fried to a crisp and the fluid would be burned black.
More likely it has a converter problem that needs to be addressed.
A good question for TCI maybe.