74 Gold Duster (WIP)

-

Sully1190

Look. It's a Gold Duster.
Reaction score
This is my first project in restoring a car. Except for that time when I was young and bought that 77 Midget. I've been getting a lot of help from my Father. And by alot of help, I mean I just hand him the tools he needs and try to glean as much information as I can. My younger brother's been... "helping" as well. Basically, he wanted to be the camera man. His work can be seen in this album here-> http://s265.photobucket.com/albums/ii218/Ian_Nelson_101/DusterRestoration/#!cpZZ1QQtppZZ32.

However, since he took pictures of alot of completely irrelevant things while he was bored, I took some of the highlights out to show.

First, a little history. I saw this car down near Biloxi when me and my family went to Cruise the Coast this year. Me and my wife had been looking for a car, so we drove back down, bought it, and were going to drive it back. Sadly, it only made it about 2 of the requisite 4 hours home, and we had to leave it at a motorcycle dealership in Hattiesburg and go back for it later on a trailer. After much ghost-chasing, we found out that the computer had burnt up (as a result of some tom-foolery in the wiring, implemented by the previous owner). Now it's all fixed and running once more. Body work's almost completely done, and hope to get it painted this weekend. Just gotta remove the stripes and smooth up a spot or two a bit more. For those curious, I think we're going with the black, half vinyl top, and plum crazy purple paint. Stripes aren't concrete yet, but we do know we want some. That may have to wait a bit though. Interior needs a little work, and I would REALLY like some new tires/rims for it. But, one step at a time. Here's some pics.

IMG_0037.jpg

IMG_0067.jpg

IMG_0064.jpg

IMG_0050.jpg

Looks like a good start. How far are you going with it? Stock,modified? Paint sounds good.:coffee2: