A quick question about POR15 and drip rail.

-

TrailBeast

AKA Mopars4us on Youtube
Reaction score
I have never used POR15 before but it says "Can be applied directly to metal and rust". (It's rust encapsulator)
I noticed a crack in the caulking right about the center of the window on the passenger side so I pulled up the loose section about 6 inches long to see what I was dealing with.
The metal under it seems to be bare steel and has very slight rust in the corners where the roof and rail meet. (Mostly just discolored like rust but no damage)

Would there be any reason I couldn't remove the caulking and coat that area with the POR15 and then just repaint down in the gutter instead of putting caulking back in there?

Thanks all.

Great choice on rust treatment! No, I can't think of why you actually need to reinstall caulk in that gutter. The POR 15 will protect the steel from rusting. I'm not sure why there is caulk there in the first place.

I'm not crazy about POR15 and I have used it a good bit. Mostly applying it for other people. First, it's messy. It gets everywhere. It's runny as all hell and you will end up havin POR15 on your nutsack. Don't ask me how it gets there. I have no clue. Under your armpits. Tween your toes. It gets places you'll wish it never did.

Also, UV light degrades it over time. Of course, if you paint over it (as POR15 recommends) this isn't an issue. It works. There are simply cheaper, better and easier things to apply out there, IMO. I like the oil based Rustoleum. When it's applied right, it will last just as long as POR15 and is just as tough. Plus, instead of 100 bucks a gallon, it's 27 bucks a gallon at the Home Depot. It's your money.

I believe the seam sealer or caulk is there because that is where the roof pieces are spot welded together. I would be afraid of a leak if I didn't replace the sealer.