BB Mileage Question?

-

jeeper

Reaction score
Hello,

I have been asking a million questions as time has gone on here trying to come up with a workable combination for my "needs"!

I have been debating between BB and SB now for a couple of months.

I was contemplating running my 440 with fenderwells in my A body along with my 4.10 rear.

Real nice for acceleration, but I probably would have to take out a loan for a summers playing.

Does anyone have any experience switching gears and a BB and what effect it had on mileage?

Say from 4.10's to 3.23's and a taller tire? I am not building a drag only car.

I know the MPG will be different, but by how much?

Thank you, ROB

I can't answer the question with regards to 4.10 gears, but my son's Dart GT convertible has a mild 440 (stock 1970 shortblock with a cam similar to a stock magnum grind), a-body hemi four speed, and a 3.23SG geared 8-3/4. The rear tires are 235-60-15s. When the engine had fewer miles and a good tune up we got as high as 15mpg on the highway cruising at 70-ish. The car hits triple digits way too easily, too............allegedly. We built the car to be a driver that we could take anywhere. We've never tried to run it at the drags, but I wouldn't expect anything better then 13.5s due to limited traction. It's really plenty fast and I wouldn't heistate to jump in it tomorrow and drive three or four hours to get somewhere.

Mileage shouldn't even be in the equation with a BB. If mileage is a factor and you still want to go fast then you need a small inch motor with a turbo. This way you have the mileage of a small motor and the punch of a BB.

Chuck

My 71 Road Runner was getting 15mpg on the highway with a 383 4spd, 509 cam, 3:23 rear, Pulling an overloadded 6'x12' U-haul trailer from NY to Indy.
Had fun on that trip. I was alone in the car and the wife was driving an 81 Caviler.